About Dubai

The United Arab Emirates extends along the coast of the Gulf, from the base of Qatar peninsula to a short way beyond Ras Al Khaimah and across the Mussandum peninsula to the Gulf of Oman . The federation comprises of the seven emirates: Abu Dhabi , which is the capital, Dubai the thriving commercial capital, Sharjah, Umm Al Quwain, Ajman, Ras Al Khaimah and Fujairah . In all, the UAE covers an area of about 83.6 thousand square kms.

The origins of Dubai are lost in the mists of time. Evidence of settlement on the Arabian Gulf dates back to the Stone Age but it was not until the 16th century that the town of Dubai appears in recorded history as a place largely dependent on pearl fishing. It was about this time that it was colonised by Portugal until expelled by the British whose initial interest in the Gulf area was maritime security to protect India. Dubai was transformed with the discovery of oil in 1966 and allowed the ruler H.H. Sheikh Rashid Al-Maktoum; a member of the famous Al Maktoum family to begin the development that turned what had been a fishing village into a great trading city and one of the components of the only federal state in the Arab world with Its massive oil wealth being wisely utilized to keep pace with technology and social changes the world is experiencing.

Dubai is the second largest of the seven emirates which make up the United Arab Emirates and ranks as the country's leading commercial centre. Dubai is located on the southern shore of the Gulf in the south eastern part of the Arabian peninsula . The total area of the Emirate is 3,885 sq.km.

The Dubai economy enjoys a competitive combination of cost, market and environmental advantages that create an ideal and attractive investment climate for local and expatriate businesses alike. In fact, these advantages not only rank Dubai as the Arabian Gulf's leading multi-purpose business center and regional hub city, but they place it at the forefront of the globe's, dynamic and emerging market economies.